Rupinder Pal Singh captain as India name squad for Asia Cup

India have named a 20-member squad for the forthcoming males’s Asia Cup Hockey match, to be held in Jakarta, Indonesia from 23 Could to 1 June. This can be a World Cup qualifier, and can see India, Japan, Pakistan and hosts Indonesia in pool A with Malaysia, Korea, Oman and Bangladesh in pool B.

India are the defending champions, and might be led by Rupinder Pal Singh with Birendra Lakra his vice-captain. There are lots of as 10 gamers make their first senior India squad, together with jr. World Cup gamers Yashdeep Siwach, Abhisek Lakra, Manjeet, Vishnukant Singh and Uttam Singh. Additionally new within the squad might be Mareeswaren Sakthivel, Sheshe Gowda BM, Pawan Rajbhar, Abharan Sudev and S Karthi. Junior World Cup participant Maninder Singh and Nilam Sanjeep Xess have been named as alternative gamers whereas Pawan, Pardeep Singh, Ankit Pal and Angad Bir Singh have been named as standbys.

Talking concerning the crew composition, Coach BJ Kariappa stated, “The team is a good mix of experienced senior players and newcomers, many of whom have played at the international level in different age-group matches but have not made their Senior India debut. Since India has already qualified for the FIH Men’s World Cup by virtue of being the hosts, this will be a good platform for us to try out this new group and test how these players utilize the opportunity.”

Former India Captain and two-time Olympian Sardar Singh who will even accompany the crew as Coach stated, “This is a very talented group of players and I have seen them work really hard over the past few weeks to earn a place in the team. On a personal front, this will be my first tournament as India Coach and I am looking forward to this new experience,” stated Sardar.

Indian Males’s Staff:


1. Pankaj Kumar Rajak 2. Suraj Karkera


3. Rupinder Pal Singh (Captain) 4. Yashdeep Siwach 5. Abhisek Lakra 6. Birendra Lakra (Vice Captain) 7. Manjeet 8. Dipsan Tirkey


9. Vishnukant Singh 10. Raj Kumar Pal 11. Mareeswaren Sakthivel 12. Sheshe Gowda BM 13. Simranjeet Singh


14. Pawan Rajbhar 15. Abharan Sudev 16. SV Sunil 17. Uttam Singh 18. S.Karthi

Alternative Gamers

19. Maninder Singh 20. Nilam Sanjeep Xess

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.